Protective Orders FAQ
AZPOINT, the Arizona Protective Order Initiation and Notification Tool, has been designed to help you fill out a petition for an Order of Protection. Through an interview in AZPOINT, you can quickly and accurately fill out the forms that are needed to request an Order of Protection at an Arizona court. An Order of Protection is a court order that is issued to stop a person from committing domestic violence or from contacting other people protected by the order. The portal will also help you figure out whether you (the plaintiff) and the person from whom you are seeking protection (the defendant) have a qualifying relationship for an Order of Protection. Your information will be saved in AZPOINT for up to 90 days. At any time during this 90-day period, you may take the next step of filing your petition at an Arizona court. Until you file your petition at a court, you will be able to return to AZPOINT to update your information if necessary. You are encouraged to speak to a victim advocate before you file your petition. An advocate can help you make a safety plan and give you more information about how an Order of Protection works and how it will be served on the defendant. For more information, click here to go to AZPOINT.
You can complete a Protective Order at any of the Protective Order Centers in Maricopa County.
There is no fee to file a Petition for Order of Protection or to file a Petition for Injunction Against Harassment. There is a fee to file a Petition for Injunction Against Workplace Harassment which is $301.
Yes. A Protective Order can only be granted by a Judge.
Order of Protection: Effective 01/01/2020 - only a Law Enforcement Agency or Constable can serve an order of protection. The Order will be served by the police or a constable as soon as they can find the defendant. The agency closest to the defendant's address will be assigned to serve the Order of Protection. Service of an Order of Protection is free.
Injunctions Against Harassment and Injunction Against Workplace Harassment can be served by a Constable, some Law Enforcement agencies, and process servers.
A Protective Order must be served within one (1) year from the date the Protective Order has been issued.
Order of Protection only: As of 01/01/2020, if the Judge grants your petition for Order of Protection, the court will send the Order of Protection and a copy of the Petition out for service today, unless the court delays it. The Court cannot delay sending the order out for service for more than 72 hours.
One (1) year from the date the Protective Order is served.
No, you will must complete a separate petition for each person from you seek protection.
A judge may order a defendant not to have contact with other people (such as a relative, friends or a babysitter). Depending on the circumstances, the court may require the other people to get their own protective order.
No. Arizona law requires the court to keep your address and contact information confidential.
Yes. You will need to go to the Protective Order Center and complete paperwork to update your address.
No. You must provide the court with addresses when available. If you are unsure, you will need to include at least the city. You may still complete the paperwork and if a Protective Order is granted by a judge, you will receive a copy of the Protective Order. Keep the Order with you at all times. If the defendant appears, call the police or the sheriff and they will use your copy to serve the papers so the order will become effective.
Yes. Domestic Violence Advocates are available the Downtown, Southeast, Northwest and Northeast Protective Order Center locations. Advocates are available to speak to victims regarding questions concerning domestic violence and the process to obtain an Order of Protection or Injunction Against Harassment. They can assist victims in obtaining a 911 emergency cell phone; and refer victims to other agencies and organizations that can help with shelter and counseling. In addition, Advocates can accompany individuals to court to get an Order of Protection or Injunction Against Harassment, or other proceedings related to domestic violence. Advocates cannot provide legal advice. However, the Protective Order Center does have information on valuable legal resources in the community.
If the Court has closed for business, Emergency Orders of Protection are granted by a judge in writing verbally, or telephonically to protect a person who is in imminent danger of domestic violence. Emergency Orders of Protection are available from local law enforcement agencies. If you are not in immediate danger, you can call your local law enforcement agency's non-emergency telephone number. If you are in immediate danger, call 911.
The Defendant has the right to request one hearing within one (1) year from the date he/she is served with the protective order.
A judge may order that the defendant turn over firearms to a local police department or to a sheriff's office. In that case, you must abide by the order and immediately turn over all firearms in your possession to the local police department of the sheriff's office within 24 hours. At the end of the one-year term of the order or if the order is dismissed or quashed before the end of the one-year term of the order, you may request your firearms from the law enforcement agency that his hold them.
A Plaintiff may appeal an order denying a petition for an Order of Protection, Injunction Against Harassment, or an Injunction Against Workplace Harassment.
A party may appeal an Order of Protection, Injunction Against Harassment, or Injunction Against Workplace Harassment that is entered, affirmed, modified or quashed after a hearing at which both parties had an opportunity to appear.
A superior court order must be appealed to the Arizona Court of Appeals. Appeal paperwork may be obtained at the Arizona Court of Appeals website.
The files included within the Law Library Resource Center's website are copyrighted. Users have permission to use the files, forms, and information for any lawful purpose. The files and forms are not intended to be used to engage in the unauthorized practice of law. The Court assumes no responsibility and accepts no liability tor actions taken by the users of these documents, including reliance on their contents. All files are under continual revision. If you are not using these forms right away, or if you plan to use them repeatedly, we strongly recommend that you check the site regularly to determine whether the files you are using have been updated.
This page was last updated on: