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Law Library Resource Center 
 

How to serve the other party by publication 
 
 
STEP 1: PUBLISH THE COURT PAPERS. 
 

A. How to serve the court papers by publication if you do not know if the other party lives 
in the county in which your case is pending (Maricopa County) and/or the other   
party’s last known address was not in Arizona. 

 
1. IF YOU HAVE A COURT ORDER WAIVING/DEFERRING COSTS of 

PUBLICATION, YOU MUST PUBLISH IN Arizona Business Gazette or The 
Phoenix Record Reporter.  
                                                                     
• Arizona Business Gazette: Call 602-444-7915 or e-mail 

legal.advertising@pni.com 
• The Record Reporter: In Person 2025 N. Third Street, #160, Phoenix, AZ 

85004-1425 or Fax 602-417-9910 
 
- OR - 
 
 2. IF YOU ARE PAYING THE COST of PUBLICATION, YOU MAY USE ANY 

 NEWSPAPER OF “GENERAL CIRCULATION” in this county. Note that:  
 

A.  There are numerous eligible publications other than the one mentioned above;  
B.  The Arizona Corporation Commission maintains a list of eligible publications 

 along with their contact information online at  
https://azcc.gov/docs/default-source/corps-files/newspaper-list-for-publishing.pdf.  
C.  Fees vary. You may call and ask for “Legal Advertising” to compare prices. 

 
STEP 2: WAIT. Wait for the newspaper to send you the original of the document called 

AFFIDAVIT OF PUBLICATION. 
 
STEP 3: COMPLETE YOUR PAPERWORK:  

A. Fill out the Declaration Supporting Publication document that is attached. 
B. ATTACH a copy of the Affidavit of Publication and published notice from the 

newspaper(s). 
C. KEEP A COPY for yourself of the Declaration Supporting Publication and 

Affidavit of Publication. 
 

STEP 4: FILE THE COURT PAPERS: 
A. File the original of the Declaration Supporting Publication with copy of Affidavit 

of Publication and published notice from the newspaper attached, and; 
B. File the original Affidavit of Publication you received from the newspaper(s).  
 

STEP 5: GO TO YOUR COURT HEARING. Bring a copy of the Petition, Notice of Hearing, 
Declaration Supporting Publication, and Affidavit of Publication with you to the 
hearing. 
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Print Name 

 
       
Print Address 

  
           , 20       
           Date 

 
       
Name of Newspaper 
 
       
Address 
 
       
 
To Whom It May Concern: 
 
I need to publish notice in the newspaper about Court Case No.     .   
 
Enclosed is a copy of the Notice of Hearing regarding a petition for:  

 Juvenile Dependency,  

 Severance (termination) of Parental Rights, or  

___     stamped by the Clerk of Court. 
 
Please publish a Notice in your newspaper about this court case once a week for four (4) weeks. I 
understand service in this matter is complete 30 days after the first publication and my hearing can be 
scheduled no earlier than ten (10) days after service is complete (no sooner than 41 days after the first 
publication).  
 
Also enclosed is (check one box): 
 

 A check or money order in the amount of $             for the cost of the publication as requested. 

  A certified copy of the Order from the court waiving the publication costs. 

 
When you receive this letter please call me at this area code and phone number (  )______________   
to tell me when publication will occur. When publication has been completed, please send to me the 
original and one copy of an Affidavit of Publication. 
 
Thank you for your help in this matter. 

 
Yours truly, 

 
        
Sign your name 

 
Enclosures:  

 Court documents  AND 

 Check or Money Order   OR  

 Certified copy of Court Order of Deferral of Publication Fees 
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