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GUARDIANSHIP and CONSERVATORSHIP 
 

GET A PERMANENT APPOINTMENT FOR A MINOR 
 

PART 3:  PREPARING FOR AND ATTENDING THE COURT HEARING 
 

(Instructions Only) 
 
 

This packet contains instructions and information to prepare for attending the court hearing regarding 
permanent (longer than 6 months) appointment of a guardian and conservator for a minor.   
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The documents you have received are copyrighted by the Superior Court of Arizona in 
Maricopa County.  You have permission to use them for any lawful purpose.  These forms 
shall not be used to engage in the unauthorized practice of law.  The Court assumes no 
responsibility and accepts no liability for actions taken by users of these documents, 
including reliance on their contents.   The documents are under continual revision and are 
current only for the day they were received. It is strongly recommended that you verify on a 
regular basis that you have the most current documents. 



IMPORTANT NOTICE  
TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

Effective September 1, 2012  
 

The Arizona Supreme Court requires that any person who is not a state-licensed 
fiduciary (or a financial institution) must complete a training program approved by the 
Supreme Court before Letters of Appointment to serve as a guardian, conservator, or 
personal representative can be issued by the Clerk of the Court, or within 30 days of a 
temporary or emergency appointment. 
 
 

TRAINING SHOULD BE COMPLETED BEFORE THE COURT HEARING  
Additional time may be granted for good reason.  

 

You may access and complete the training FREE online at: 
www.azcourts.gov/probate/Training.aspx  

 
 

Go to the section for “Non-licensed Fiduciaries” and click on the link to access a 
narrated slide-show presentation of the materials applicable to your situation.  
 

 
You may also pick up a printout of the training materials in English or Spanish 
from the Self-Service Center.  AFTER reviewing the materials, you will need to 

inform the Court that you have completed the training by filing either the 
Certificate available at the end of the online training, or the Declaration of 

Completion form available from the Self-Service Center.  If you have questions 
about the training, contact the Probate Clerk at 602-506-3668. 
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PROCEDURES:  PREPARING FOR AND ATTENDING 
THE COURT HEARING for GUARDIANSHIP AND 

CONSERVATORSHIP for a MINOR 
 

 

NOTICE:  Effective September 1, 2012, The Arizona Supreme Court requires that every person who is      
to serve as a conservator, guardian, or personal representative [executor] of an estate who is not a state-
licensed, professional fiduciary must complete a training program approved by the Supreme Court before 
Letters of Appointment can be issued by the Clerk of the Court.  
 

Training should be completed and a statement that the training has been completed should be brought to    
(or filed before) the hearing, though additional time to complete the training may be requested for good 
reason.   
 
If you completed the (English-only) online training, you may either print the “Certificate” that appears at        
the end of each online program or submit the “Declaration of Completion” form included in this packet,  
and  which is also included with the Self-Service Center’s training materials, which are available in both 
English and Spanish.     

 
See the “Notice Regarding Training Requirements” (PBT10i) in this packet for additional information. 

 
STEP 1 DOCUMENTS TO PREPARE BEFORE THE COURT HEARING: 
 

A. ORDER TO GUARDIAN-CONSERVATOR(s) (PBGCM80f): The person who is to serve  
as Guardian-Conservator must READ AND SIGN this document.   

 
READ CAREFULLY!  SIGNING THIS DOCUMENT INDICATES THAT YOU UNDERSTAND AND 
AGREE TO ACCEPT LEGAL RESPONSIBILITY FOR OBEYING THE TERMS OF THIS ORDER. 

  
• The proposed guardian-conservator must sign this Order in the Acknowledgement 

section to indicate his/her understanding and agreement with the terms of the Order, and 
then make 2 copies: one to keep, and one to deliver to the court. 

 
B. ORDER OF APPOINTMENT OF PERMANENT CONSERVATOR: (PBGCM81f) 

• Complete the caption of the Order, which includes the name of the protected person 
(the Ward) and the case number. 

 

• The Judge/Commissioner will fill in the rest of the Order at the hearing and sign the 
Order if he or she agrees that a conservator should be appointed. 
 

• Be sure to write the case number on all documents to be presented to the court! 
 
C. OTHER DOCUMENTS FOR THE JUDGE BEFORE THE HEARING: In addition to 

the 3 documents listed above, you also need to mail or hand-deliver the following: 
• NOTICE OF HEARING (PBGC18f),             
• DECLARATION OF NOTICE PROVIDED (PBGC29f),  

(from packet 2, “Service of Notice”) and  
• WAIVER OF NOTICE (PBGC19f), (if applicable) 
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Mail or hand-deliver the original and one copy of the documents listed in A, B, C, and D above to the 
Judicial Officer who will conduct the hearing.  If mailing, it is recommended that you post them 10 full days 
before the hearing. If delivering in person, do so at least 5 business days before the hearing.    
 

STEP 2 (Optional) REQUEST A COURT REPORTER AND/OR INTERPRETER: If you or the 
person to be protected need the court to provide an interpreter, or you need to hire a court 
reporter (at your expense) to make a written record of every word of the hearing, you       
must inform the staff of the judicial officer who will conduct the hearing, preferably at least 
10 days before the hearing but no later than 2 days before the hearing.  

 

STEP 3 BRING THESE DOCUMENTS TO THE COURT HEARING: 
 

 These documents will be filed if the Judicial Officer (Judge or Commissioner) grants the 
conservatorship.  Make at least 2 copies to bring with you to the hearing. 

 

• ORDER OF APPOINTMENT   (PBGCM81f) 

• ORDER TO GUARDIAN-CONSERVATOR and ACKNOWLEDGMENT (PBGCM80f) 

• LETTERS OF APPOINTMENT and ACCEPTANCE OF LETTERS (PBGCM82f) 

• DECLARATION (or “Certificate”) OF COMPLETION OF TRAINING (PBT80f) 
 

• ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF CONSERVATOR and LAWYER’S UNDER- 
TAKING and OBLIGATION* (PBC83F) (Used Only if Conservator represented by 
lawyer.*    See NOTE below*)   
 

AT THE HEARING:  
 

• Be prepared to testify about why guardianship and conservatorship is needed.  

• Bring any witnesses you think will help to testify as well.   

• Bring a copy of everything you already filed with the Court in this matter. 
 

STEP 4. AFTER THE HEARING:  
 

A. IMMEDIATELY after the Judge/Commissioner signs the court papers, take the       
following original documents (and the extra copy) to the Probate Filing Counter.  

• Order of Appointment,  
• Order to Guardian and Conservator and Acknowledgment, *  
• Letters of Appointment, and the  
• Declaration (or “Certificate”) of Completion of Training  (if not previously filed)   

 

 
*Please Note:  If Conservator is represented by an attorney, the attorney would file the 

“Acknowledgement of Conservator” and “Lawyer’s Undertaking” instead of the “Order to 
Conservator”. 

 

 
Ask the Clerk to issue the LETTERS OF APPOINTMENT.   The Clerk will stamp and file the 
appropriate originals and return the copies for you to keep for your records.  
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B. WITHIN 90 DAYS: The conservator must file a:  

• Proof of Restricted Account (if ordered by the Court),  
and, unless you were specifically ordered to NOT do so by the court, an  

• Inventory,  
• Budget, and  
• Sustainability Statement.   

 
See the Arizona Supreme Court’s web page for forms and instructions at 
http://www.azcourts.gov/probate/ProbateForms.aspx OR 
 
Forms and instructions are or will be available from the Superior Court Self-Service Center 
in both English and Spanish.  Check with the Self-Service Center in person or online to 
determine if the forms and instructions are yet available.   
 

C. WITHIN 1 YEAR: The conservator must file the first “Conservator’s Account.”  
The first account will report on the protected person’s finances from the date of issuance of 
the Letters through the last day of the ninth (9th) month after.  Annual Accountings 
covering each 12 month period after the period covered by the first must be filed each year 
on or before the anniversary date of the issuance of the Letters, until the conservatorship is 
terminated by court order.   
 
Forms for the first Conservator’s Account, and the annual accountings to follow, including 
self-calculating spreadsheets, are available in English on the state Supreme Court’s web 
page at: http://www.azcourts.gov/probate/ProbateForms.aspx , OR  
 
You may (or will be able to) obtain printed forms and instructions from all Superior Court 
Self-Service Center locations or online. 
Check at the Self-Service Center in-person or online at the web address above to   
determine if the forms and instructions are yet available. 
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