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Law Library Resource Center 
 

Petition and papers for small claims property valuation appeal in the 
Arizona Tax Court 

 
Checklist 

 
Use the forms and instructions in this packet only if all of the following factors apply to your 
situation: 

 
 You want the valuation of your property reduced (“valuation” is the full cash value of 

the property on the notice you received from the County), and, 
 
 You want to handle your own appeal, without a lawyer representing you, and, 
 
 You paid your taxes before they were delinquent (late). 
 
 You want the valuation listed in the February Notice of Valuation reduced. 
 
 The property on which you want the valuation reduced is either your primary 

residence (a Class Three residential property of ANY value), or 
is not your primary residence but is valued at $2,000,000 (two million dollars) or less 
by the tax assessor.    

* * * * * 
 

Note:  If “yes” to all of the above, you have two options: 
 

1.  You must file your Petition by December 15th of the year in which you 
received the February Valuation Notice, or  

2.  You must file your Petition within 60 days of the most recent             
Administrative Appeal Decision, if an Administrative Appeal has been taken. 
 

For new property owners: A new owner of a property that was valued by the Assessor 
and whose valuation or legal classification was not appealed by the property’s former 
owner may appeal the valuation or legal classification 
• on or before December 15 of the valuation year, if ownership changed before 

December 15 of the valuation year, or 
• by December 15 of the year in which taxes are levied, if ownership changed 

after December 15 of the valuation year. 
 

Read me: Consulting a lawyer before filing documents with the court may help prevent 
unexpected results. A list of lawyers you may hire to advise you on handling your own case 
or to perform specific tasks can be found on the Law Library Resource Center website.  
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Law Library Resource Center 
 
 

Small claims property valuation appeal 
in the Arizona Tax Court 

 
  
This packet contains court forms and instructions to file a small claims property valuation 
appeal in the Arizona Tax Court. Items in BOLD are forms that you will need to file with the 
Court. Non-bold items are instructions or procedures. Do not copy or file those pages!  
 

Order File 
Number Title # Pages 

1 TXSC1k Checklist 1 

2 TXSC1t Table of Contents (this page) 1 

3 TXSC10p Rules of Practice for the Arizona Tax Court 2 

4 TXSC10h Procedures and instructions for filing a small claims 
property tax valuation appeal in the Arizona Tax Court 5 

5 TXSC10f Arizona Tax Court Cover Sheet 1 

6 TXSC11f Petition and Notice of Small Claims Property Tax 
Appeal 2 

 
 
 
 
 
The documents you have received are copyrighted by the Superior Court of Arizona in 
Maricopa County. You have permission to use them for any lawful purpose. These forms 
shall not be used to engage in the unauthorized practice of law. The Court assumes no 
responsibility and accepts no liability for actions taken by users of these documents, including 
reliance on their contents. The documents are under continual revision and are current only 
for the day they were received. It is strongly recommended that you verify on a regular basis 
that you have the most current documents. 
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Law Library Resource Center 
 

Rules of Practice 
Arizona Tax Court 

 
Rule 17. Small Claims Procedures 
 

Rules 1 through 16 apply to all Tax Court cases, including small claims. Rules 18-
through 26 apply specifically to small claims tax claims.  

 
 

Most taxpayers will need only the following Rules to conduct their small claims tax appeal. These 
Rules are provided for the convenience of the small claims taxpayer whose appeal is relatively 
simple and who may not have ready access to legal materials. If, however, the taxpayer finds that 
his or her particular appeal is more complicated, then the taxpayer is directed to consult the Arizona 
Rules of Court. This volume may be found at any Law Library. 

 

 
 
If the taxpayer’s property is not Class Three residential and has a full cash value greater than 
$2,000,000 (two million dollars), then a record tax case must be filed and these forms cannot be 
used to appeal the valuation. The taxpayer should stop at this point and consult an attorney, a tax 
professional, or the Arizona Revised Statutes, Title 12 and Title 42. 
 
 
Rule 18. Election  
  

Omitted. 
 
Rule 19. Reclassification when Defendant Taxpayer Elects  
   

Omitted. 
 
Rule 20. Reclassification when Requirements Not Met  
   

If the Court determines that a case designated as a small tax claim does not meet the 
requirements of Section 12-172, Arizona Revised Statutes, the case will be reclassified as a 

record tax case, and a new TX-number will be assigned. Additional fees may be required and 
must be paid within 10 days of the notice to pay those fees. 

 
Rule 21. Clerk to Serve Small Claims Tax Petition  
 

When a small tax claim is filed, the Clerk of the Tax Court will serve a copy of the Petition 
on the applicable state or local taxing authority by mail. 
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The local Taxing Authority is the County Board of Supervisors in the County in which the 

property is located. 
 
 
Rule 22. Non-Lawyer Representation in Small Tax Claims  
   

In a small tax claim, a party may be represented by a person who is not an active 
member of the State Bar, if the Court allows. 

 
Rule 23. Dismissal before Judgment   
  

A taxpayer may dismiss a small claims case before the entry of judgment by filing a 
Notice of Dismissal with the Clerk of the Tax Court. A dismissal by the taxpayer is with prejudice 

(meaning it cannot be re-filed). 
 
Rule 24. Setting Small Claims for Trial 
 

Repealed. 
 
 
Your case will be set for trial. If you reach an agreement with the Assessor’s Office before the trial 
date, you need do nothing further; the trial date will be cancelled. 
 *************************************************** 
If your case actually goes to trial, our address is: 
       Tax Court Judge 

    101 W. Jefferson St. 
    East Court Building 
    Phoenix, AZ 85003 
 

 
Rule 25. Small Claims Hearings and Trials 
 

All testimony in a small claims hearing or trial will be given under oath and the 
proceedings are not reported by a court reporter. 

 
Rule 26. Introduction of Evidence 
 

A small claims trial is informal. Any evidence may be received which assists the Court. 
The Arizona Rules of Evidence govern the taking of evidence, except that the Tax Judge or 

Commissioner may receive opinion evidence, hearsay, and documentary evidence as the Court 
determines to be reliable. 
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Law Library Resource Center 
 

Procedures and instructions for filing a small claims property tax 
valuation appeal in the Arizona Tax Court 

 
 
Use the forms in this package only if you can say “yes” to all five (5) statements on the page 
titled “Checklist,” which should be the third page in this packet.  
 

Note: You must file your Petition by December 15th of the year in which you received the 
February Valuation Notice, or within 60 days of the most recent Administrative Appeal Decision, 
if an Administrative Appeal has been made. 

 
For new property owners: A new owner of a property that was valued by the Assessor and whose 
valuation or legal classification was not appealed by the property’s former owner may appeal the 
valuation or legal classification 

• on or before December 15 of the valuation year, if ownership changed before December 
15 of the valuation year, or 

• by December 15 of the year in which taxes are levied, if ownership changed after 
December 15 of the valuation year. 

 
Filling out the forms 
 
Using black ink, print in large, clear letters (or use a typewriter). 
 
First Form: The Arizona Tax Court Coversheet (form TXSC10f) 
 
The Cover Sheet has the following title at the top of the page:  

 
In the Superior Court of Arizona 

In the Arizona Tax Court 
Coversheet 

 
Do not fill in the Tax Case Number. The Clerk of Superior Court will provide this number. 

 
• In order to be able to file a Small Claims Tax case, you must check at least one of the 

three boxes on the cover sheet and check that you want to proceed as a Small Claims tax 
case. For you to file as a Small Claims Tax case either: 

 
• The property in your case is your primary residence; 

 
• The cash value of all real and personal property in your case is $2,000,000 or less; or 

 
• Your case does not involve property tax case, and the taxes, interest, and penalties 

involved is $5,000 or less. 
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If your case is not at least one of the three above qualifications, you will have to file it as a 
regular (Record) Tax case.  

 
• Go down to “Taxpayer or Plaintiff’s Name” and “Taxpayer or Plaintiff’s Address.” Print 

or type your name and mailing address in the spaces provided. Under the section title, 
“Names of Additional Taxpayers or Plaintiffs,” print or type in the names of any other 
owners of the property!  

 
• Next, if you are not going to represent yourself in court, who is? Put a check in the 

appropriate blank to tell us whether the person representing you is an attorney, a CPA, an 
IRS agent, or some other type of representative who already has been approved to appear 
in the Tax Court and given a Tax Court Representative number (TXR). Print the name of 
your representative and either his or her Arizona State Bar number (if an attorney), or 
their TXR (if preapproved by the Tax Court) in the designated space. 

 
• For “Defendant’s Name,” write or type in the name of the county where the property is 

located for which you want the tax valuation reduced.  
 

• Answer the question if the case you are filing is a property tax case. Answer “yes” and 
check the “Yes” box if your dispute involves your property. If it involves another type of 
tax (e.g., luxury tax, amusement, sports taxes, etc.) check the “No” box.  

 
• Note: You should always seek the advice of a qualified professional to protect your rights 

and to help determine whether you have filled out the form correctly. This is especially 
true if you are appealing something other than a property tax valuation in Small Claims 
Tax Court, which is all these forms were designed to do. 

 
• Sign your name on the line at the bottom of the page, to tell the Court that to the best of 

your knowledge, all of the information you are filing is true and correct.  
 

* * * * * * * * * 
 
Second Form: Petition and Notice of Appeal (form TXSC11f)  
 
The words “Petition and Notice of Appeal” appear on the right side of the first page of this 
form above the words “Property Tax Appeal (Small Claims Procedure).” 
 
 Match the letters or numbers on these instructions to those on the form. 
 
(a) Taxpayer’s Name, etc. Print your name, your address, and your home telephone 

number and/or other telephone numbers, along with your email address, if applicable.  
(b) Taxpayers. On the lines under “Taxpayer(s)” write in your name and the name(s) of 

any other owners of the property (such as your spouse or anyone else). 
(c)  County. Print the name of the County where the property is located.  
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* * * * * * * * * * 

 
Do not fill in the “Case No.” The Clerk of Superior Court will assign this number. After the 
Clerk of Superior Court gives you a case number, use it on any correspondence with the 
Court or documents filed in this case. The case number is different from your Parcel Number 
-- which you will also have to use. A Small Claims Tax Court case number will start with the 
letters “ST” followed by the year you filed and then 6 digits, such as ST 2002-000001. 
 
 * * * * * * * * * * 
Plaintiff’s Claim.  
 
1. States the statute that allows you to file this appeal in the Small Claims Tax Court (do 

nothing to #1).  
 
2. Put an “X” in the appropriate box to tell the Court for which type of property you want the 

valuation reduced in this case:  
  
Mark the first box if the property is a Class Three property as listed on your Tax Valuation 
notice. This means it is your primary residence and you don’t rent out all or part of it to 
others, or  
 
Mark the second box if the property is any other kind and the value assessed by the County is 
$2,000,000 or less.  
 
Note: If you chose the second answer, above, and the valuation notice from the County said 
the full cash value of the property is more than $2,000,000, Stop! See the instructions printed 
inside the box on page 5. 
 
3. This tells the Court that you are an owner of this property. Any appeal of a property tax 

valuation must be filed by a property owner or his/her representative. 
 
4. Print the street address where the property is located. If it doesn't have one, give the legal 

description. Do not list a post office box number. 
 
Parcel Number. Print the parcel number in the spaces provided at the top of the next page. 
This number is on the tax valuation notice card you received from the assessor telling you 
what is the full cash value. 
 
5. Print the value assigned to your property by the assessor as listed on the tax valuation 

notice in the first blank; list the tax year you are appealing in the second. 
 
6. In large, clear, easy-to-read print, list for the Court the reasons why you think the value 

assigned to your property by the tax assessor is too high. If you need more space, continue 
on a separate piece of paper and attach. (Do not write on the back). 
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7. What do you think should be the full cash value of the property? Write in the dollar 
amount. 

 
Sign and date the form in the spaces provided. Only one of the owners has to sign. 
 
Next: What to do with the forms  
 
(1) You will need three sets of documents, 1 original and make two (2) copies of the 

completed coversheet and Petition.  
 
(2) Take all three sets of documents to the Clerk of Superior Court (You may also mail 

them in -- see instructions below for filing by mail).  
 
You may file at any one of the following four Superior Court locations:  
 

Downtown Phoenix   Northeast Facility  
201 W. Jefferson St.   18380 N. 40th St. 
Phoenix, AZ 85003   Phoenix, AZ 85032 
 
Northwest Facility    Southeast Facility 
14264 W. Tierra Buena Ln.  222 E. Javelina Ave. 
Surprise, AZ 85374   Mesa, AZ 85210 
 

 
***** All court hearings will be conducted at the East Court Building at:  

101 W. Jefferson St. 
Phoenix, AZ 85003. 

 
 
Give the Clerk of Superior Court all three sets of documents and your filing fee. You can 
find out the exact fees and costs that are charged for any particular matter by calling the 
Clerk of Superior Court at 602-372-5375 or on their website. Ask their office to return one 
“conformed copy” to keep for yourself. The Clerk of Superior Court will mark your copy to 
show that it is a duplicate of an original that has been filed with the Court.  
 
If you should have to call the Clerk of Superior Court about the case, please be ready to give 
your name, the name of the case and the case number (the “ST____ number”) -- this helps 
the Clerk of Superior Court to answer your questions. 
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The Clerk of Superior Court is not permitted to offer advice or to help you fill out these 
forms – in person or over the phone. The Clerk of Superior Court can refer you to the 
Law Library Resource Center for assistance with the forms, or refer you to the Arizona 
Revised Statutes. 
 
We have also included in this package a partial copy of the Tax Court Rules – which 
apply to your case even though you are in Small Claims Tax Court. 
 
If you cannot file in Small Claims Tax Court because your property is not Class Three 
residential property (as indicated on the valuation notice), or because it is some other 
type of property with an assessed value of greater than $2,000,000, then you must file 
your appeal in the regular Tax Court, where it is known as a “Record” Tax case. Be 
aware that filing in the regular Tax Court is more expensive, and self-help forms have 
not been approved for that type of case. We strongly recommend consulting a lawyer or 
qualified tax professional. 

 
Notice to all taxpayers 

 
 

All of the current year’s taxes on the property whose value you want 
reduced must be paid before they become delinquent or your appeal 
may be dismissed by the Court. This includes taxes that come due 
after you have filed this appeal. 
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 IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF ARIZONA 
  IN THE ARIZONA TAX COURT 

C O V E R S H E E T 

If you wish to file a Small Claims Tax case your case must qualify by you checking at least one of the three boxes 
below and checking that you want to proceed as a Small Claims tax case.  If your case does not qualify it will be filed 
as a Record Tax case.  

The property in dispute is your primary residence. 

The cash value of all real and personal property in dispute is $2,000,000 or less. 

This is not a property tax case and the amount of taxes, interest, and penalties in dispute is $5,000 or less. 

If you have checked one of the above boxes, would you like to proceed as a Small Claims Tax case? 

Yes No, I wish my case to proceed as a Record Tax case. 

Please type or print the following information (Rule 10, Rules of Practice, Arizona Tax Court). 

TAXPAYER OR PLAINTIFF’S NAME TAXPAYER OR PLAINTIFF’S ADDRESS

Names of Additional Taxpayers or Plaintiffs 

_________________________________________________ 

Type or print the name and either state bar number or TXR number of the taxpayer or plaintiff’s representative. 

Authority for taxpayer or plaintiff's representative to act as a representative:  (Check One) 

Attorney Licensed in Arizona Prior Tax Court Approval 

DEFENDANT'S NAME  

Staff Use Only: 

Is this a property tax case? 
Yes  (TX – 400/401) (ST – 460/461) 

No (TX – 430/437) (ST – 490/497) 

Information entered on this form is true and correct to best of my belief and knowledge, under penalty of law. 

   Date:                                       Signature:  

NOTICE 
This “Cover Sheet” must accompany new tax actions filed with the Maricopa County Superior Court.   

Please do not include this form with cases that have already been filed, as it can only be processed when 
filing new complaints and petitions. 

______________________________________ 
Case Number (Clerk Use Only) For Clerk’s Use Only
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Person Filing: 

Address (if not protected): 

City, State, Zip Code: 

Telephone:

Email Address: 

Lawyer’s Bar Number:

Representing  Self, without a Lawyer or  Attorney for  Petitioner OR  Respondent 

THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF ARIZONA 
IN THE ARIZONA TAX COURT 

Taxpayer(s) )
)
) CASE NO. 
)
)

Plaintiff(s), ) PETITION AND NOTICE       
) OF APPEAL 

v. ) 
) PROPERTY TAX APPEAL 

 County, ) (Small Claims Procedure) 
) 

Defendant. )
)

PLAINTIFF’S CLAIM

1. This action is brought in the Arizona Tax Court pursuant to A.R.S. §12-172.

2. Check the appropriate box below.  Check only one.

This Claim involves my primary residence, a Class Three residential property (as 
defined by A.R.S. § 42-12003). It is not owner-occupied rental property (as defined 
by A.R.S. § 42-12004(A)(5)). 

This Claim involves real or personal property other than my primary residence,      
the valuation of which by the taxing authority does not exceed $2,000,000.00. 

3. I am the owner of the property involved in this appeal.

4. The address of the property is:
Street Address (No P. O. Boxes) 

     Arizona 
City   County 

For Clerk’s Use Only



         Case No.     
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The County Assessor's Parcel Number for the property is:              -             -            . 

 
 
5. The taxing authority has placed a valuation on the property of $                                   for 

the                      tax year. 

 

 

6. The valuation set by the taxing authority on the above property is excessive for the 

following reasons: 

 
              
 
              
 
              
 
              
 
              

 
              
 

 
7. The Court should order the valuation reduced to $         
 
 

                                                     
              Date    Taxpayer/Plaintiff Signature 

 
 
     _________________________________________ 
     Please print name of Signatory 

 
 
  

NOTICE TO TAXPAYER 
All current year taxes on the property which is the subject of this lawsuit must be paid 
before they become delinquent, or your appeal may be dismissed by the Court. This 

includes taxes that come due after you have filed this appeal. 
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