
 

GUARDIANSHIP AND/OR CONSERVATORSHIP 
TRANSFERRING AN EXISTING OUT-OF-STATE CASE TO 

ARIZONA 
 
 

INFORMATION ON HOW TO TRANSFER THE CASE 
 
 
 
The case transfer steps are as follows: 
  
 
1. OBTAIN AN ORDER: 

Obtain an Order from the court of the other state where the guardianship and/or 
conservatorship case is presently located authorizing the guardian/conservator to 
petition the Court in Arizona to accept the transfer of the case from that state to Arizona. 
You must have a CERTIFIED COPY of the Order authorizing the transfer of the petition 
to the court in Arizona. 

  
 
2. PETITION THE COURT: 

File your “Petition for Acceptance of Transfer of Guardianship and/or 
Conservatorship from Another State to Arizona” along with your certified order with 
the Probate Department of the Superior Court in the Arizona county to which you want to 
transfer the case.   

  
 
3. NOTICE: 

You must give NOTICE of the Petition for Acceptance of Transfer to everyone who is 
entitled to receive Notice in the state where the guardianship or conservatorship is 
coming FROM, as well as give notice to any additional persons legally entitled to receive 
Notice of a guardianship or conservatorship petition in Arizona.   See Arizona Revised 
Statutes (A.R.S.) §14-5309 [guardianship] or A.R.S. § 14-5405 [conservatorship], which 
provides that for an adult guardianship or conservatorship case, Notice shall be given to: 

  
a. The ward (the protected or incapacitated person), and that person’s spouse and 

parents or adult children. 
  
b. Any person who is serving as guardian or conservator who has the care and 

custody of the ward. 
  
c. In case no other person is notified under subsections a or b above, Notice must 

be given to at least one of the ward’s closest adult relatives, if any can be found. 
  
d. If any person has filed a Demand for Notice with the Clerk of the Court for 

Probate, then Notice must also be given to that person. 
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4. METHOD OF NOTICE: 

  
a. At least 14 days prior to the hearing on the Petition for Acceptance of 

Transfer, Notice shall be personally served on the ward and that person’s 
parents, spouse and/or children, if they are present in Arizona.   

  
b. If the ward’s spouse and parents are not present in Arizona, then Notice shall be 

given as provided for in A.R.S. §14-1401: 
  

i.    By mailing a copy of the Notice at least 14 days before the time set for the 
hearing by certified or ordinary first class mail addressed to the person being 
given Notice at that person’s place of residence or office, if known, or if a 
Demand for Notice has been given, Notice shall be mailed to the address 
given in the Demand for Notice, or; 

  
ii.    By delivering a copy to the person being notified personally at least 14 days 

before the time set for the hearing, or; 
  
iii.   If the address or identity of any person is not known and cannot be 

determined with reasonable effort, then Notice shall be given by publication, 
publishing at least 3 times prior to the date set for the hearing, in a 
newspaper of general circulation in the County where the hearing is to be 
held.  The first publication must occur at least 14 days before the hearing.   

  
c. The Court, for good cause shown, may provide for a different method of giving 

notice for any hearing. 
  
 

5. PROOF OF NOTICE:  
Proof of having given notice must be provided at or before the hearing and shall be filed 
with the Clerk of the Court. 

  
 

6. NON-APPEARANCE HEARING:    
The hearing on the Petition for Acceptance of Transfer shall be set as a Non-
Appearance hearing unless an Objection to the Petition is filed or the Court on its own 
motion sets the matter for an Appearance hearing.  This means that a time has been 
scheduled in which you MAY appear before the court, however if it is a Non-Appearance 
Hearing you are not required to attend. 

  
 
7. ORDER GRANTING THE PETITION: 
 After the hearing, the Court shall enter an Order provisionally granting the Petition to 

Accept Transfer and provisionally appointing the proposed guardian or conservator in 
Arizona as well, unless: 

  
a. An objection is made and the objector establishes that the transfer would be 

contrary to the best interests of the ward, or; 
  

b. The proposed guardian or conservator is not eligible for appointment in Arizona. 
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8. FILE ARIZONA’S PROVISIONAL ORDERS IN THE FOREIGN JURISDICTION: 
 The Court where the guardianship or conservatorship case originated must enter a final 

order that transfers the guardianship or conservatorship case to Arizona and close the 
case in that state.   You must follow the procedures required by that state to obtain a 
Final Order Approving Transfer (to Arizona) and terminating the case there, but note 
that you will likely need to present certified copies of the Arizona Provisional Orders 
Accepting Transfer and the Provisional Orders Appointing Guardian or 
Conservator to the court in the sending state to obtain those final orders. 

   
 
9. FILE THE SENDING STATE’S FINAL COURT ORDERS IN ARIZONA: 
 The Petitioner must file a certified copy of the other state’s Final Order(s) with the 

Arizona Court, and request that the Arizona court enter a Final Order Accepting 
Transfer of Guardianship and/or Conservatorship and Order Appointing 
Permanent Guardian and/or Conservator. 

 
 
10.    WITHIN 90 DAYS . . . 
 

 Within 90 days after entering an Order Accepting the Guardianship and/or 
Conservatorship, the Arizona court shall determine whether the guardianship or 
conservatorship needs to be modified to conform to the laws of Arizona.  

 
 

11. ANNUAL REPORTS and/or ACCOUNTINGS: 
 

On or before the one year anniversary of the date of issuance of the Arizona 
“Provisional Letters of Appointment” (not the “Order of Appointment”), an Annual 
Report must be filed by the guardian, and/or an Accounting by the conservator. 
 
See the Superior Court Self-Service Center’s Annual Report and/or Accounting 
packets for more detailed information.  You may also contact Probate Court 
Administration at 602-506-3668.  
 
 
 

 NEXT:  See the “PROCEDURES” document (PBTX10P) in this packet for 
specific information on what forms to fill out, number of copies required, what to 
do with the copies, etc., 
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