Arizona Jury Fund - Rules for Eligibility
In an effort to reduce the financial burden on jurors who serve on trials, the Arizona Legislature established the Arizona Jury Fund (AJF). The fund is designed to replace unpaid earnings for a juror who serves on a trial. A trial day is any day a juror is required to report to the courthouse for service.
Compensation for Eligible Jurors
Qualified jurors who serve one or more days may be compensated as follows:
- $12 county-paid jury fee
- mileage reimbursement
- earnings replacement or supplementation (between $28 and $300/day) from the AJF
Depending on local practice, jurors may receive this compensation on a daily, weekly, bi-weekly, other periodic basis, or after jury service is completed.
Effective September 24, 2022
You may be eligible for additional monies for your jury service if you have to be in court for jury service for more than one court business day, AND one of the following describes you:
a. You are retired or unemployed.
b. You are employed and can show the Court you are losing income while serving as a juror.
If you match one of those choices above, and wish to receive the additional monies, please ask the Courtroom Assistant about the Arizona Jury Fund.
Jurors not eligible to receive monies from the Arizona Jury Fund will still receive $12 plus mileage reimbursement for each day of their service.
Retired or unemployed
Jurors who are unemployed or retired can receive AJF supplemental compensation in the amount of $28/day. Receipt of spousal maintenance, pension, retirement, unemployment compensation, disability benefits, or other similar income does not preclude a juror from receiving this supplemental compensation.
Upon the first day of trial you can receive $40 plus your mileage reimbursement for each day of your service. This is retroactive to the first day of trial and continues through the end of the trial.
Employed with demonstrable loss of income
Upon the first day of trial, you can be reimbursed for your demonstrated daily loss, up to $312, plus your mileage reimbursement, for each day of your service. This is retroactive to the first day of trial and continues through the end of the trial. If your income or loss of income changes you must notify the jury office immediately. Any over payments due to unreported income or miscalculations will be pursued for repayment. Learn more about compensation for loss of employment income.
A completed application and documentation of lost income must be received by the Office of the Jury Commissioner within 30 days of the last day of jury service. The application is available online.
For more information, please contact the Jury Office and ask for the Arizona Jury Fund Coordinator or email your questions to ATDEFJury@JBAZMC.maricopa.gov
Contact the Jury Office
Jury Scam Notice
Beware of jury scams! Learn more
This page was last updated on: