Or text (480) 470-5879
Many employers support the jury system by providing wages for employees serving on jury duty. Employers are not required by law to compensate employees while they are on jury duty. Please check with your employer regarding your company’s policy. State law prohibits an employer from discharging or discriminating against an employee for taking time to serve as a juror if the employee gives reasonable notice prior to serving. Jurors are paid a mileage allowance based upon their home zip code. Grand jurors and trial jurors selected to serve receive a daily fee plus mileage. Checks are mailed every two weeks.
Donation of reimbursement
Many jurors elect to make a tax-deductible donation of their fees and mileage reimbursements to the Jury Donation Fund. Proceeds of the Fund are used exclusively for the benefit of juror services, amenities, and programs.
Jurors appearing for service and released the first day, not selected for trial, are paid for mileage only. Jurors who have been selected will receive $12.00 per day plus mileage. Mileage is calculated from the middle of your home zip code to the court house. The rate, which is currently 44.5 cents per mile, is set by the legislature of the State of Arizona.
Compensation for lengthy trial
A jury trial can last anywhere from hours to months depending on the nature of the case at hand. With this in mind, the Arizona Legislature has implemented the Arizona Lengthy Trial Fund (ALTF), a fund designed to replace unpaid earnings for a juror who serves on a trial that lasts six days or more.
Contact the Jury Office
This page was last updated on: