Protective Orders


Welcome to the Maricopa County Superior Court Protective Orders website.
If you are in immediate danger, call 911.

AZPOINT, the Arizona Protective Order Initiation and Notification Tool, has been designed to help you fill out a petition for an Order of Protection. Through an interview in AZPOINT, you can quickly and accurately fill out the forms that are needed to request an Order of Protection at an Arizona court.

Where do I start?

AZPOINT will help you figure out whether you (the plaintiff) and the person from whom you are seeking protection (the defendant) have a qualifying relationship for an Order of Protection. Your information will be saved in AZPOINT for up to 90 days. At any time during this 90-day period, you may take the next step of filing your petition at an Arizona court. Until you file your petition at a court, you will be able to return to AZPOINT to update your information if necessary. For more information, click here to go to AZPOINT.

What do I do next?

Your AZPOINT interview is complete when it is "court ready" and you get a confirmation number.  You can either call the the court for a remote hearing, or come into the court for your hearing. 

  • For a remote hearing, call the court at (602) 506-5572 with your confirmation number.
  • To have your hearing onsite, bring your confirmation number to any of our Superior Court locations.

 

General Information

The Law Library Resource Center's Protective Order offices provide resources to help individuals understand and navigate the process of obtaining protection orders to prevent domestic violence or harassment.

IMPORTANT: As of 01/01/2020, there are several changes to the Protective Order process. How a party is served in the Order of Protection process has changed. If the Judge grants your Petition for Order of Protection, the court will send the Order of Protection and a copy of the petition out for service today, unless the court delays it. The court cannot delay sending the order out for service for more than 72 hours.

The Service process for Injunctions Against Harassment and Injunctions Against Workplace Harassment remain the responsibility of the Plaintiff.

Learn about the three types of Protective Orders:

Locations and Hours

Domestic Violence Lay Legal Advocates / Servicios Legales y Abogacía

  • civil court orders prohibiting a specific person from making contact with you such as coming near your home, work site, school, or other locations as listed on the order.
  • based on the relationship you have with the party you are seeking protection from.
  • issued by a judge.
  • effective for 12 months from service date.

Effective 01/01/2020, if the judge grants your petition for Order of Protection, the court will send the Order of Protection and a copy of the petition out for service TODAY, unless the court delays it. The court cannot delay sending the order out for service for more than 72 hours.

 

 

  • restrain a defendant from committing acts of violence and harassment.
  • prohibit a defendant from contacting or coming into contact with you.
  • provide you with legal recourse if the person served with a protective order violates the order.

 

  • resolve landlord/tenant disputes.
  • change custody or visitation orders.
  • guarantee your safety.

 

Domestic Violence Forms

Forms to apply for an Order of Protection, Injunction Against Harassment, and Injunction Against Workplace Harassment are available at AZPOINT or onsite at the Law Library Resource Center. For more information on protective orders, please see staff at any of our four locations.

We have a form to file a request for a hearing. This downloadable Request for Hearing form should only be used if you are unable to go in person to one of the Law Library Resource Center locations to complete the form and you have spoken to our Protective Order staff.

If you have moved out of a home you were given exclusive use under an Order of Protection, you must notify the court.  You must use the Notice regarding exclusive possession of shared residence form.  This form is available in English and Spanish.

Frequently Asked Questions

Answers to general questions for obtaining protective orders.

Domestic Violence Advocates

Advocates are not attorneys and do not give legal advice, but they are available to speak to victims regarding questions concerning domestic violence and the process to obtain an Order of Protection or Injunction Against Harassment.

The files included within the Law Library Resource Center's website are copyrighted. Users have permission to use the files, forms, and information for any lawful purpose. The files and forms are not intended to be used to engage in the unauthorized practice of law. The Court assumes no responsibility and accepts no liability tor actions taken by the users of these documents, including reliance on their contents. All files are under continual revision. If you are not using these forms right away, or if you plan to use them repeatedly, we strongly recommend that you check the site regularly to determine whether the files you are using have been updated.


Paula Collins
Law Library Resource Center Administrator
Contact the Law Library Resource Center

  This page was last updated on: